Negotiation 2020

Registration for this competition is now closed.

Competitors may join the Facebook group here.

The 2020 Corrs Chambers Westgarth Negotiation Competition mimics a mediation session between two teams of lawyers, each representing a hypothetical party in an attempt to negotiate through and resolve a dispute. Teams consist of two members each, who shall remain together for the duration of the competition.  After preparing, the teams will come together to discuss the various issues and attempt to come to an agreement that best meets their client’s instructions. The problems could include various scenarios such as negotiating a damages settlement for health problems caused by toxic waste from a nearby factory (like in ‘Erin Brockovich’), or negotiating for a train driver’s seat to have a cup-holder or armrest (like in the Metro trains and train drivers’ union negotiation). 

To ensure that all competitors have the opportunity to put their negotiation skills to the test against other law students, all teams will be guaranteed participation in at least two fixtures (Rounds 1 & 2). From Round 2, the competition will take the form of a knockout style competition.
Please note: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and transition to online competitions, we have had to remove one round from the Negotiations Competition. This means that in 2020, all rounds will be knockout.

Preliminary rounds are held at Melbourne Law School, with the Grand Final being held at Corrs Chambers Westgarth. Members of the public are welcome to attend the Grand Final.

If you have any further questions, please contact Luke Amoddio and Tim Sheehan on


Round 1: 30th/2nd March/April
Round 2: 27th/30th April
Round 3: 11th/14th May
Quarter-Final: 3rd August
Semi-Final: 24th August
Grand Final: 14th September

Dates are subject to change.



Winners – Hugh Stirling and Lucy Johnson
Runners Up – Annie Moller and Laura McKenzie
Judges – Christopher Warwick, Joshua Levy (Corrs Chambers Westgarth) and Jamie Chapman (Corrs Chambers Westgarth)

Congratulations to Hugh Stirling and Lucy Johnson for winning the 2020 Corrs Chambers Westgarth Negotiation Competition. Congratulations to Annie Moller and Laura McKenzie, who were the runners up of the competition.

Thank you to our Co-opts Tim Sheehan and Luke Amoddio and thank you to all those who participated in 2020.


2020 – Hugh Stirling and Lucy Johnson

2019 – Max Arundel and Zoe Stathis

2018 – Pia Mitchell and Sarah Watling

2017 – Grace Bilham and Alisha D’Souza

2016 – Thomas Diaz and Matthew Caldow

2015 – Hector Sharp and Emma Reed

2014 – Karina Bradley and James Gray

2013 – Daniel Wright and Cyril Cotteral-Debay

2012 – Nicholas James Baum and Antony Freeman

2011 – Andrea De Souza and Daniel Holmes

2010 – Jiaying Zhang and Julia Wang

2009 – Nicholas Liau and Samantha Jreissati

2008 – Unknown

2007 – Joel Tito and Julienne Hortle