International Humanitarian Law Moot 2020


Competitors may join the Facebook group here.

International humanitarian law is also known as the laws of war and armed conflict. As a set of rules and principles IHL aims, for humanitarian reasons, to limit the effects of armed conflict. It protects people who are not or are no longer participating in hostilities and restricts the means and methods of warfare.

The IHL Moot is open to JD students in all year levels and first year students are encouraged to participate. Teams consist of 2-3 students: two barristers and one optional instructing solicitor.

The Moot uses one problem throughout the whole competition, giving students ample opportunity to learn from their mistakes to improve their legal and oral advocacy skills.

Preliminary rounds are held at Melbourne Law School, with the Grand Final being held at the Federal Court in Melbourne. Members of the public are encouraged to attend the Grand Final.*
*Please note that in 2020, due to COVID-19, this competition will take place online.

Competition Details

Teams must consist of a Senior and Junior Counsel. An Instructing Solicitor who assists in legal research and preparation of the written submissions (does not speak during the oral submissions) is optional, but encouraged. Team members may rotate positions during the course of the competition so that everyone gets a chance to make oral submissions.

Time commitment: For ALL competitiors, the moot problem will be released 1:00PM, two days prior to your moot. As mooting is research based, expect to spend some time reading the problem, undertaking some research and preparing for the moot.

Team size: 2–3 members

Attire: Business

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact Alexandra Wright and Kevin Fan on


Round 1: 18th/19th August
Round 2: 1st/2nd September
Round 3: 15th/16th September
Quarter-Final: 23rd September
Semi-Final: 29th September
Grand Final: 13th October



Winners Nick Clohesy, Stephanie Douvos and Madeleine Pittle
Pictured (left to right): Aneta Paretko & Dr Carrie McDougall, Nick Clohesy, Stephanie Douvos & Madeleine Pittle (Winners), Ben Mishricky & Kevin Fan (Runners Up)

Congratulations to ‘Nice to Moot You’ (Nick Clohesy, Stephanie Douvos and Madeleine Pittle) for winning the 2019 IHL Mooting Competition. Stephanie Douvos was awarded ‘Best Speaker’ for the Moot.

Congratulations to ‘Balance of Inabilities’ (Kevin Fan and Ben Mishricky) who were the Runners Up of the Competition.

Thank you to all who participated this year!


2019 – Nick Clohesy, Stephanie Douvos and Madeleine Pittle

2018 – Edward Howard, Julia Sheridan and Shilpa Sringar

2017 – Harrie Bantick and James Hogan

2016 – Nikki Hagler, Julia Korolkova and Maria Victoria Downie

2015 – Julia Nikolic, Elizabeth Flatley and Jessica Pergaminelis

2014 – N/A

2013 – Jessica Cao, Stephanie Mercuri and Lucy Nihill

2012 – John Manwaring, Sophie Wade and Brigid McCarthy

2011 – Eamon Kelly and Georgia Boyce

2010 – Nahal Zebarjadi and Emma Poole