First Year Mooting

Registration for this competition has NOW CLOSED.

You will be able to join the 2021 First Year Mooting Facebook group here.

For the seventh consecutive year, the LSS brings you our Mooting Competition exclusively for first years. This competition was introduced specifically for first year JD students, with problems focusing on areas of law such as torts and contracts.

In 2021, First Year Mooting has space for 48 teams, sorted into pools in a World Cup-style fixture including group stage and knockout rounds. Each team is guaranteed to compete in at least three fixtures, with the Grand Finalists competing in a total of seven moots across the year. There is no better way to get mooting experience as a first year than through the 2021 Herbert Smith Freehills First Year Mooting Competition.

The Competition has three preliminary rounds which are followed by the Quarter, Semi and Grand Final. In Semester 1, 2021, preliminary rounds will be held online. Whether subsequent rounds and finals will be held online or in person will be confirmed in the coming months.

Competition Details

Teams must consist of a Senior and Junior Counsel. An Instructing Solicitor who assists in legal research and preparation of the written submissions (does not speak during the oral submissions) is optional, but encouraged. Team members may rotate positions during the course of the competition so that everyone gets a chance to make oral submissions.

Time commitment: For ALL competitiors, the moot problem will be released 1:00PM, two days prior to your moot. As mooting is research based, expect to spend some time reading the problem, undertaking some research and preparing for the moot.

Team size: 2–3 members

Attire: Business

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact Galen Maxwell and Liam Roney on


Round 1: Wednesday 24/3 and Thursday 25/3
Round 2: Wednesday 14/4 and Thursday 15/4
Round 3: Wednesday 28/4 and Thursday 29/4
Round 4: Wednesday 12/5 and Thursday 13/5
Quarter-Final: Wednesday 28/7
Semi-Final: Wednesday 11/8
Grand Final: Thursday 26/8

Dates are subject to change.



Winners – Galen Maxwell, Samuel Hannah and Mark Salamy
Runners Up – Thomas Franchina, Thenu Herath and Leonardo Monichino
Best Speaker – Thomas Franchina
Judges – Dylan O’Keefe (Herbert Smith Freehills), Her Hon Judge Caroline Kirton and Professor Ian Malkin

Congratulations to Galen Maxwell, Samuel Hannah and Mark Salamy for winning the 2020 Herbert Smith Freehills First Year Mooting Competition. Congratulations to Thomas Franchina, Thenu Herath and Leonardo Monichino who were the runners up of the competition.

The Best Speaker of the Grand Final was awarded to Thomas Franchina.

Thank you to our Co-opts Annie Jiang and Tina Yao and thank you to all those who participated in 2020.


2020 – Galen Maxwell, Samuel Hannah & Mark Salamy

2019 – Haydn Berry, Hugo Rogers & Kevin Sebastian

2018 – Celina Christoffelsz, Sarah Watling and Amber Withers

2017 – Zoe Brown, Tyrone Connell and Andrew Tolé 

2016 – Jess Koops, Anna Liu and Camille Bentley-McGoldrick

2015 – Jennifer Keene, Harry Hill-Smith and Tim Higgins

2014 – Luke Chircop, Morgan Koegel and Blake Connell