Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot 2020

Melbourne University Law Students’ Society (‘MULSS’), in collaboration with the Australian Association of Constitutional Law (‘AACL’) and the Australian Government Solicitor (‘AGS’), will be hosting the 2019 Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot. This high calibre moot brings together Australia’s best constitutional law mooters to compete in Melbourne.

The competition is structured as a four round-robin moot, followed by three knockout finals rounds. There will be a $1,500 prize for the winning team and a $500 prize for the second placed team. There will also be a cocktail party and a gala dinner for all competitors.

All moots, other than the Grand Final, will be held at Melbourne Law School. The Grand Final is hosted at the Federal Court in Melbourne.

If there are any issues or queries, please email <>.


Winners Bodhi Shribman-Dellman, Zoe Brown and Tyrone Connell (the University of Melbourne) with their coach, Christopher Tran.
Pictured (left to right): Teagan Matthews (Runner Up), the Hon Professor Marilyn Warren AC QC, the Hon Justice Patrick Keane AC, Tyrone Connell (Winner and Best Oralist), Zoe Brown (Winner), Bodhi Shribman-Dellman (Winner), Matthew Hickey (Runner Up), the Hon Justice Richard Niall QC and Giulia Marrama (Runner Up).

Congratulations to Zoe Brown, Tyrone Connell and Bodhi Shribman-Dellman from the University of Melbourne for winning the 2019 Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot. Congratulations to Matthew Hickey, Giulia Marrama and Teagan Matthews from Queensland University of Technology, who were the runner up of the competition.

The Best Oralist of the Grand Final was awarded to Tyrone Connell (University of Melbourne).

Best Plaintiff Written Memorandum was awarded to Queensland University of Technology. Best Defendant Written Memorandum was awarded to the University of Melbourne. The Best Oralist of the Preliminary Rounds was Olivia Everett of University of Western Australia.

Thank you to all those who participated.


Competition Dates: 3rd October – 5th October

Problem Released: 5th August at 9am AEST

Requests for Clarifications Due: 26th August at 5pm AEST

Clarifications Made Available: 2nd September at 5pm AEST

Written Memoranda (Both Sides) Due: 16th September at 5pm AEST

Draw Release Date: 23rd Sepetember at 5pm AEST


Team registration fee (for a team of three): $AU 600.00 (inc. GST)

Coach registration fee (per coach): $AU 100.00 (inc. GST)

  1. The team registration fee includes (1) catering for the Gala Dinner, to be held on the evening of the Grand Final (Saturday 5th October); (2) cocktail evening on Friday 4th October; and (3) lunch/coffee/tea during the preliminary rounds.
  2. Teams will have to cover their own travel and accommodation costs, where applicable.
  3. Payments for the team registration fee and the coach registration fee is due before the problem is released. If payments are not received by the close of business on that day, the team will be considered as not having been successfully registered to participate in the Moot.
  4. It is not mandatory to send a coach to the Moot. If no coach is sent, then the coach registration fee is not payable.


2019 COMPETITION LADDER (Adjusted after Round 4)

1Team 15
2Team 4
3Team 20
4Team 21
5Team 6
6Team 11
7Team 17
8Team 5
9Team 22
10Team 10
11Team 16
12Team 13
13Team 18
14Team 9
15Team 7
16Team 3
17Team 19
18Team 12
19Team 14
20Team 8
21Team 2
22Team 1


2019 – University of Melbourne

2018 – University of Sydney

2017 – University of Melbourne

2016 – Australian National University

2015 – University of Melbourne

2014 – NA

2013 – University of Queensland

2012 – University of Sydney

2011 – University of Melbourne

2010 – NA

2009 – University of Technology Sydney

2008 – University of Sydney

2007 – University of Sydney

2006 – University of Newcastle

2005 – University of Technology Sydney

2004 – University of Technology Sydney

2003 – Macquarie University

2002 – Bond University