Open Mooting

Registration for this competition has now CLOSED. 

Competitors may join the Facebook Group HERE.

The 2019 King & Wood Mallesons Open Mooting Competition is Melbourne Law School’s premiere mooting competition. The Competition has four preliminary rounds which are followed by the Quarter, Semi and Grand Final. Students from all year levels of the JD are encouraged to compete in this high-calibre competition.

Competition rounds are judged by lawyers from King & Wood Mallesons, with problems written by Melbourne Law School faculty and on occasion, past students. Problems in the the past have covered vastly different areas of the law, such as: Contracts, Torts, Property Law, Trusts, Corporations Law and Constitution Law.

The Semi-Final of the Competition is held at King & Wood Mallesons’ Melbourne offices and teams are judged by a panel of lawyers from the firm. Members of the public are welcome to attend this event.

The Grand Final of the 2019 competition will be held at the Federal Court on Tuesday 24 September 2019. Members of the public are also encouraged to attend this event.

Competition Details

Teams must consist of a Senior and Junior Counsel. An Instructing Solicitor who assists in legal research and preparation of the written submissions (does not speak during the oral submissions) is optional, but encouraged. Team members may rotate positions during the course of the competition so that everyone gets a chance to make oral submissions.

Time commitment: For ALL competitiors, the moot problem will be released 1:00PM, two days prior to your moot. As mooting is research based, expect to spend some time reading the problem, undertaking some research and preparing for the moot.

Team size: 2–3 members

Attire: Business



2018 – Eloise Culic, Tom Diaz and James Hogan

2017 – William Connolly and Julian O’Donnell 

2016 – Jennifer Keene, Harry Hill-Smith and Tim Higgins

2015 – Alexandra Harrison-Ichlov, Kathryn Wright and Kirsten Sugden

2014 – Nicholas Kotzman, Raoul Renard and Matthew Psycharis

2013 – Nicholas Boyd-Caine, Shawn Rajanayagam and Doug Porteous

2012 – Lewis Cohen, Joshua Anderson and Alex Bicknell

2011 – Nicholas Tam and Paul Annabell

2010 – Brendan Fitzgerald, Sam Naparstek and Jess Chiu

2009 – Daniel Kinsey and Sarah Zeleznikow

2008 – Laura Bellamy and Katherine Payne