Melbourne University Law Students' Society

2015 King and Wood Mallesons Mooting Competition

Mooting is the traditional bloodbath sport of law school and is your chance to get a taste of what it is like to be a real Atticus Finch in the heat of battle! In mooting you will encounter a 'mock' courtroom scenario where two teams compete against each other in the context of a mock submission.

The problem, a hypothetical fact scenario, is usually framed as an appeal against an earlier decision. As such, the facts have already been agreed upon, and the two sides are debating issues of law with one team representing the appellant and the other representing the respondent. 

Each team is required to submit a written submission to the court, as well as make oral submissions to the judge. It’s a fun, social opportunity to develop your legal research and oral advocacy skills, as well as a chance to demonstrate who has the punniest team name!

2015 Grand Final

We are very proud to announce our 2015 King & Wood Mallesons mooting competition winners: Alexandra Harrison-Ichlov, Kathryn Wright and Kirsten Sugden.

A big congratulations also to our runners-up: John Morrisey, Allison Fong and Jack Coventry.

This year, we were fortunate to have Professor William Gummow (former Justice of the High Court of Australia), Justice Pamela Tate (Victorian Court of Appeal) and Mr Chris Fox (Partner at King & Wood Mallesons) presiding over the moot. The night was an incredible success, with over 150 spectators packing out the Federal Court for the Grand Final.

Please follow this link to the full story.

(L-R: Kathryn Wright, Kirsten Sugden, Mr Chris Fox, Alexandra Harrison-Ichlov, Professor William Gummow, Justice Pamela Tate)


Registration Details

Teams must consist of a Senior and Junior Counsel. An Instructing Solicitor, who assists in legal research and preparation of the written submission, but does NOT speak during the oral submission is optional but encouraged. Team members may rotate positions during the course of the competition so that everyone gets a chance to make oral submissions.
Time commitment: Problems will be released approximately 48 hours prior to your moot. As mooting is research based, expect to spend several hours researching, as well as a few hours writing your submission and preparing for the moot.
Team size: 2-3 members
Attire: Please wear business attire to your moot
Registration for this competition has closed for 2015.

Key Dates for 2015

Round 1: Sem 1, Week 6 and 7

Round 2: Sem 1, Week 9

Round 3: Sem 1, Week 11

Round 4: Sem 2, Week 3

Semi Final: Sem 2, Week 5

Grand Final: Thursday 17 September


Mooting Guidebook

Download the mooting guidebook here

Scoring Sheet

Download the mooting scoring sheet here

Written Submission Sample

Download the sample written submission here

Mooting Workshop Powerpoint

Download the powerpoint here

Previous Winners

2015: Alexandra Harrison-Ichlov; Kathryn Wright; Kirsten Sugden

2014: Nicholas Kotzman; Raoul Renard; Matthew Psycharis

2013: Doug Porteous; Shawn Rajanayagam; Nick Boyd-Caine

2012: Lewis Cohen; Joshua Anderson; Alex Bicknell

2011: Nicholas Tan; Paul Annabell

2010: Brendan Fitzgerald; Sam Naparstek; Jess Chiu

2009: Daniel Kinsey; Sarah Zeleznikow