Melbourne University Law Students' Society

2018 First Year Mooting Competition

Join the 2018 First Year Mooting Facebook group HERE.

For the fifth consecutive year, the LSS brings you our Mooting and Witness Examination Competitions exclusively for first years. These competitions were introduced specifically for first year JD students, and as such are designed to operate as an introduction to both Mooting and Witness Examination. The problems are of a level that is accessible to first years and an emphasis will be placed on helping teams improve round to round. 

In 2019, First Year Mooting will have space for 48 teams, sorted into pools in a World Cup-style fixture including group stage and knockout rounds. Each team is guaranteed to compete in at least three fixtures, with the Grand Finalists competing in a total of seven moots across the year. There is no better way of getting mooting experience as a first year than through the 2019 First Year Mooting Competition.

2018 Results

Congratulations to Cellina Christoffelsz, Sarah Watling and Amber Withers for winning the 2018 First Year Mooting Competition. Congratulations to Monica Stanisis and Hannah Bullock as runner up. Thank you to Professor Ian Malkin for writing the Grand Final tort law problem. Congratulations to Amber Withers for winning the Best Speaker award.

Grand Finalists of the 2018 First Year Moot. Pictured (Left to Right): Amber Withers (Winner), Celina Christoffelsz (Winner), Sarah Watling (Winner), Fiona Alpins, Professor Ian Malkin, the Hon Justice Caroline Kirton, Monica Stanisis and Hannah Bullock.


Winners of the 2018 First Year Mooting Competition. Pictured (Left to Right): Amber Withers, Sarah Watling and Celina Christoffelsz.

Registration Details

Teams must consist of a Senior and Junior Counsel. An Instructing Solicitor who assists in legal research and preparation of the written submissions (does not speak during the oral submissions) is optional, but encouraged. Team members may rotate positions during the course of the competition so that everyone gets a chance to make oral submissions.

Time commitment: For ALL competitiors, the moot problem will be released 1:00PM, two days prior to your moot. As mooting is research based, expect to spend some time reading the problem, undertaking some research and preparing for the moot.

Team size: 2–3 members

Attire: Business

Registration: Opens Thursday 7 March 2019, 7:00PM.

Key Dates

Information session:

Wednesday 6 March 2019, Room 102, 1:00–2:00PM

  • Slides can be downloaded here.
  • Demonstration moot problem can be downloaded here.
  • Demonstration moot submission for the appellants can be downloaded here.
  • Demonstration moot submission for respondents can be downloaded here
  • Judging Guide for the demonstration moot here.

Mooting Workshop: 

Wednesday 13 March, Room 102, 1:00–2:00PM

Round 1:

Semester 1, Week 4: Wednesday 27 and Thursday 28 March 2019

Round 2:

Semester 1, Week 6: Wednesday 10 and Thursday 11 April 2019

Round 3:

Semester 1, Week 9 (Due to ANZAC Day & Law Ball in Week 8): Wednesday 8 and Thursday 9 May 2019

Qualifying Finals (top 16 teams):

Semester 1, Week 10: *ALL teams are scheduled to compete on Wednesday 15 May*

Quarter Finals


Semi Finals


Grand Final




Download the 2018 First Year Mooting Guidebook HERE.

Mooting Scoresheet

Download the Mooting Scoresheet HERE.

Exemplar Written Submissions

Download the exemplar written submissions HERE.

Bobrowski v Kaminski Sample Problem

Download the sample problem from the 2018 Information Session HERE.

Bobrowski v Kaminski Written Submission Sample

Download the sample written submissions HERE.

Previous Winners

2018: Celina Christoffelsz, Sarah Watling and Amber Withers

2017: Zoe Brown, Tyrone Connell, Andrew Tolé

2016: Jessica Koops, Anna Liu and Camille Bentley-McGoldrick

2015: Jennifer Keene, Harry Hill-Smith and Tim Higgins



Sarah Watling

Competitions Director (Internal)

Pia Mitchell

Competitions Director (Internal)