Melbourne University Law Students' Society

Competition Details

Melbourne University Law Students' Society ('MULSS'), in collaboration with the Australian Association of Constitutional Law ('AACL') and the Australian Government Solicitor ('AGS'), will be hosting the 2018 Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot. This high calibre moot brings together Australia's best constitutional law mooters to compete in Melbourne. 

The competition is structured as a four round-robin moot, followed by three knockout finals rounds. There will be a $1,500 prize for the winning team, and a $500 prize for the second placed team. There will also be a cocktail party and a gala dinner for all competitors.

All moots, other than the Grand Final, will be held at Melbourne Law School. The Grand Final will be hosted at the High Court in Melbourne.

2018 Key Dates

Competition Dates: Saturday 22, Sunday 23 and Monday 24 September 2018.

Registration OPENS: Registrations are NOW OPEN. Registration details have been sent, via email, to University contacts. To register, download and complete the registration form HERE. Please email all completed registration forms to <> by Monday 23 July 2018, 5:00PM AEST

Registration CLOSES: Registration will close three weeks from the open date, that is 5:00PM, Monday 23 July 2018 AEST

Problem Released: Monday 6 August.

Requests for Clarifications Due: Monday 27 August.

Clarifications Made Available: Monday 3 September.

Written Submissions (Both Sides) Due: Monday 10 September. The draw will be made available shortly thereafter.

2018 Competition Details

Team registration fee (for a team of three): $AU 600.00 (inc. GST)

Coach registration fee (per coach): $AU 100.00 (inc. GST)

  1. The team registration fee includes (1) catering for the Gala Dinner, to be held on the evening after the Grand Final (Monday 24 September); (2) cocktail evening on Sunday 23 September; and (3) lunch/coffee/tea during the preliminary rounds.
  2. Teams will have to cover their own travel and accommodation costs, where applicable.
  3. Payments for the team registration fee and the coach registration fee is due before the problem is released on Monday 6 August. If payments are not received by the close of business on that day, the team will be considered as not having been successfully registered to participate in the Moot.

Melbourne Law School Gibbs Moot Team Applications – Now OPEN

For Melbourne Law School JD students who wish to be part of the Moot team, please complete the application form HERE and email responses to Nico Kunz at <>.

Students must have completed Principles of Public Law and Constitution Law subjects to be eligible. 

Applications will close 5:00PM, 12 July 2018.

2018 Competitor Resources


The 2018 Moot problem will be released on Monday 6 August. It will be posted here and will be sent to the relevant registered university team contacts. Melbourne Law School thanks the Solicitor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, Dr Stephen Donaghue QC, for writing the 2018 Moot problem.

The 2017 Moot problem can be found here. Melbourne Law School thanks the Honourable Justice James Edelman of the High Court for writing the problem.

The 2016 Moot problem can be found here. Melbourne Law School thanks the Honourable Justice Stephen Gageler of the High Court for writing the problem.



The 2017 Competition Rules can be found here



To be confirmed.



The 2016 Guidebook can be found here.

Competition Ladder

The Competition Ladder will be made available here during the Competition.

Rank Team


Grand Final

The Grand Final will be held on Monday 24 September 2018, 2:00PM at the High Court, in Melbourne (Level 17, 305 William Street).

The Grand Final will be presided over by three judges, including the Honourable Justice Virginia Bell AC and the Honourable Justice William Gummow AC.

Anyone is welcome to attend. 

If there are any issues or queries, please email <>.


Ken Kiat

Competitions Director (Internal)

Karan Desai

Competitions Director (Internal)

Nico Kunz

Competitions Director (External)