Melbourne University Law Students' Society

Competition Details

Melbourne University Law Students' Society (MULSS), in collaboration with the Australian Association of Constitutional Law (AACL) and the Australian Government Solicitor (AGS), will be hosting the 2017 Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot. This high calibre moot brings together Australia's best constitutional law mooters to compete in Melbourne. 

The competition is structured as a four moot round-robin, followed by three knockout finals rounds. There will be a $1500 prize for the winning team, and a $500 prize for the second placed team. There will also be a cocktail party and a gala dinner for all competitors.

All moots, other than the Grand Final, will be held at Melbourne Law School. The Grand Final will be hosted at the High Court in Melbourne, presided over by The Honourable Justice Geoffrey Nettle, The Honourable Michelle Gordon and The Honourable Stephen McLeish. 

The competition dates this year are Saturday 23, Sunday 24, and Monday 25 September. 



2017 Key Dates

Registration: Registration emails were sent to University contacts at the beginning of July. Registration closes July 14th. FInal team details are due July 31st. Invoices will be sent in August.

If you have not received the email, or need to arrange an extension of time, please contact Lydia at

Problem released: Monday 7th August

Requests for clarifications due: Monday 21st August

Clarifications made available: Monday 28th August

Written submissions (both sides) due: Monday 11th September


Competitor Resources (2016 Competition)

The 2016 problem can be found here. The Melbourne University Law Students' Society thanks Justice Stephen Gageler of the High Court for writing the problem. 

The 2016 Competition Rules can be found here. If you have any queries about the rules, you can contact us at for clarification.


The 2016 Scoresheet can be found here


The 2016 Guidebook can be found here



For any queries about the competition, email or contact Alana on 0431 129 669. 


Competition Ladder

The Competition Ladder after the rounds is as follows: 

1. Australian National University

2. University of New South Wales

3. University of Melbourne

4. Monash University

5. La Trobe University

6. University of Queensland

7. University of Sydney

8. Murdoch University

9. Bond University

10. University of Western Australia

11. University of Tasmania

12. Macquarie University

13. University of Technology Sydney

14. Griffith University

15. Deakin University

16. University of Wollongong

17. University of Canberra

18. Flinders University

19. University of South Australia


Grand Final

The Grand Final will be held at 2:00pm in the High Court in Melbourne, Level 17, 305 William Street. The Hon William Gummow, The Hon Susan Crennan and The Hon Ian Callinan will preside.

Anyone is welcome to attend. 


Alana Perna

Competitions Director

Lydia Holt

Competitions Director

Jacinta Cox

Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot Officer

David Vuong

Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot Officer

Matthew Caldow

Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot Officer